Flowers happen in Egypt


Yesterday I chatted about the fact that flowers happen.  Then today I found out about the Egyptian tanks bearing flowers, reminiscent of the flowers hippies stuck into the soldiers’ gun barrels during the anti-Vietnam protests in the late Sixties/early Seventies.

People universally react to flowers. Someone once said flowers are God’s laughter and I love the poetry of that. Buddha held up a flower in complete silence as a sermon. One of his students ‘got it’ and started smiling. I guess enlightenment will do that.

Also related to the unrest in Egypt is this amazing image that came along via someone on Twitter who was on the scene. I found this picture of Christians protecting Muslims at prayer, very moving. It gives me hope for the human race…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment