Avaaz and Bradley Manning

To my great joy, Avaaz, the powerful lobbying group that gathers and uses international pressure very powerfully wherever it may be needed, has taken up Bradley Manning’s case. Please be so kind as to sign the petition here.

Also, please contemplate this famous quote by Martin Niemoeller:

When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.

Other writings by him have a chilling echo in this situation. In a sense, we are all guilty of what happens to people behind locked doors where there is no accountability.

Here’s Pres. Obama’s quote re whistleblowers from this site:

Protect Whistleblowers: Often the best source of information about waste, fraud, and abuse in government is an existing government employee committed to public integrity and willing to speak out. Such acts of courage and patriotism, which can sometimes save lives and often save taxpayer dollars, should be encouraged rather than stifled. We need to empower federal employees as watchdogs of wrongdoing and partners in performance. Barack Obama will strengthen whistleblower laws to protect federal workers who expose waste, fraud, and abuse of authority in government. Obama will ensure that federal agencies expedite the process for reviewing whistleblower claims and whistleblowers have full access to courts and due process.

I am really disappointed in Barack Obama… during a long drawing marathon I listened to his audio-book, ‘Dreams from my Father’ after which I feel as if he’s almost a relative. So – I do hope he follows the strong moral code he’s always had and does something about this now. Even though there are things we cannot know about this situation and there are nuances and complications – it’s time Obama spoke out about the matter. Don’t you think?

Am I being naive and hopelessly idealistic here? It seems I have a lot of company in that regard.

One thought on “Avaaz and Bradley Manning

Leave a Reply

